What is Octocon?

Octocon, the National Irish Science Fiction Convention, is a weekend celebration of our favourite stories from books, comics, TV, films and games; from science fiction, fantasy, horror and beyond; attracting artists, writers, film-makers and fans from across the human sphere of influence.

The first Octocon was held in 1990 with Terry Pratchett as our first Guest of Honour. Over the years, some of our guests of honour have included Anne McCaffrey, JG Jones, Tanith Lee, Mike Carey, George R.R. Martin, Gail Simone, Rhianna Pratchett, Pat Cadigan and Colleen Doran.

For one weekend in October, we gather together to talk about all the wonders we have read and watched over the year; to share our favorite moments from book, TV, comics and films; to delve into the unsung genres and curious concepts of speculative fiction; to take part in workshops, and listen to panel discussions and charming guest speakers; to see what ‘must haves’ are in the Trade Hall; to experience the fun which is Octocon.

The Gibson Hotel

Octocon 2020 and 2021 were both held online due to Covid-19, but in October 2022 we ran our first hybrid convention at Croke Park and Online. This year, we’re going Hybrid again: on Saturday 7th and Sunday 8th of October 2023 in The Gibson Hotel & Online.

Octo with programme book and badge

Octocon 2023 is a hybrid convention.

As such, in addition to our in-person activities, we will also feature: 

  • A Discord server for socializing 
  • Zoom for facilitating workshops, talks, and socializing for those who prefer it to Discord 
  • YouTube for live-streaming panels and YouTube for hosting recordings for replay 

As we do not expect all members to be familiar with all of these services, we have provided the following guides: 

Octocon 2023 Committee & Team

Chairperson – Paul Carroll – email

Secretary – Maire Brophy

Membership Officer – MaryBrigid Turner

Treasury Team – Marguerite Smith and Alex McKenzie

Programme Director  – Kat Dodd

Guest Liaison – Zoe Thompson

Newsletter Manager – MaryBrigid Turner

Programme Tech – Catherine Sharp

Social Media Manager – Gwen Frazer

Accessibility Officer – Kat Dodd

Venue Liaison – James Bacon

Fan Table Liaison – David Green

Trade Hall Manager – Alex McKenzie

Virtual Ops Manager – Faranae

On-site Ops Manager – Colm Dodd

On-site Stream Producer – Daire

A/V Technician – Pat Maher

Web Designer – Karina Steffens

Web and Tech Administrator – James Shields

General Committee – Janet O’Sullivan & Rowan Daly

Accessibility Team:
Kat Dodd – Head of Accessibility
Danielle Lavigne
Declan Meenagh
Rowan Daly

Programme Team:
Kat Dodd – Head of Programme
Catherine Sharp
Danielle Lavigne
David Green
Declan Meenagh
James Brophy
Paul Carroll
Rowan Daly
Zoe Thompson

Octo RPG